

## OFFICE OF THE CLERK OF PARLIAMENT

## PARLIAMENT BUILDING OAU DRIVE, TOWER HILL



FREETOWN

E-mail: sierraleoneparliament@hotmail.com/admin@parliament.gov.sl

25<sup>th</sup> April, 2023

**PRESS RELEASE** 



## SIERRA LEONE PARLIAMENTARY PRESS GALLERY GIVES AWARDS TO DESERVING PERSONS

The Sierra Leone Parliamentary Press Gallery has on Tuesday 25/04/2023 issued out an awards to deserving persons in Committee Room One, during the course of its maiden awards and symposium held in Parliament building.

Sierra Leone Parliamentary Press Gallery has given the following awards, dated 25/04/2023:

- 1. Best Male Staff of the Fifth Parliament, Lawrence Koday Kamara
- 2. Best Female Staff of the Fifth Parliament, Zainab Susan Dumbuya

3. Best Female MP of the Fifth Parliament, Hon. Rebecca Yei Sam from Kono

4. Best Male MP of the Fifth Parliament, Hon. Abdul Sulaiman Marray-Conteh

5. Best Media House of the Fifth Parliament, AYV Television

6. Best MDA Friend to the Fifth Parliament, Ministry of Health and Sanitation

7. Best Committee of the Fifth Parliament, Committee on Mines and Minerals Resources, chaired by Hon. Saa Emerson Lamina.

Meaningful statements were made by Emmanuel A.B Turay of MIC, Leader of C4C in Parliament, Hon. Williams Joseph Lamin for Leader of Government Business, Deputy Leader of the Opposition, and the Interim President of the SLPPG, geared towards enhancing and strengthening the capacity of the press gallery.

Thanks to Melvin Tejan Mansaray, Chairman of the Awards Committee said that the process was transparent, fair and competitive and congratulated the deserving award winners.

According to Mr. Mansaray, over 2000 people voted in and out of the country and the award and symposium was sponsored by the Parliament of Sierra Leone.

Other staffers were recognized for their dedicated services to the Fifth Parliament including Alghali Lambert and Ibrahim Sorie Bangura.

The awards were presented by the Director General of Parliament, Mr.s Findosia Fraser.

Congratulations to the awardees and thanks to the Director of ICT for supporting the process, Sulaiman Bah, Senior PRO, Press Gallery for managing the press gallery, and the Hon. Clerk of Parliament for supporting the initiative and providing funds for the conduct of this maiden awards and symposium by the Press Gallery.

Thanks also to the facilitators, Sheku Lamin Turay, Gilbert N'habay, Valnora Edwin, and Samuel Wise Bangura.

Parliamentary and Public Relations Department Parliament of Sierra Leone +23278426851/+23278495023